Kind of Building Chirch
Style Barock
Built from Viscardi/Ettenhofer
End Of Construction 1727
Place Tal 77
Station Marienplatz
Line all S-Bahnen; U3, U6;
tramline 19, bus 51

The history of the Heilig-Geist(holy ghost) -church begins into the year 1208. In this year in front of the gates of Munich, a pilgrim house with chapel was built. A hospital emerged 1250 and the Heilig-Geist(holy ghost) church was finally constructed 1327. In 1727 the gothic building was changed into a baroque church. The interior decoration was made by the Gebrüder Asam. At the main entrance, the graves of duke Ferdinand of Bavaria and his wife are to be seen from the year 1608, made by Hans Kumper. In the course of time the Heilig-Geist(holy ghost) church has grown to a style combination of Gotik, Baroque and Rokoko.